The Council of Elders to receive 2013 Human Rights Award on November 12, 2013

Press Release from Howard County, MD government
Human Rights Commission Announces Winners of 2013 Human Rights Award

The Howard County Human Rights Commission is pleased to announce that the Honorable James Robey, Maryland State Senator, and The Council of Elders of the Black Community of Howard County, MD are the recipients of the 2013 Human Rights Award. The award is given annually to individuals and/or organizations selected by the Commission from nominations submitted by the community. An award ceremony will be held on Tuesday, November 12 at 7 p.m. at Slayton House in Wilde Lake, 10400 Cross Fox Lane in Columbia. The award ceremony is free and open to the public; however, seating is limited. To reserve your seat, please call the Human Rights Commission Award reservation line at 410-313-1156.

The Human Rights Commission Award honors individuals and community organizations for contributions to human and civil rights in Howard County. The purpose of the award is to recognize exemplary citizenship, dedicated leadership and outstanding achievement in eliminating or eradicating discrimination, while advancing human rights for all residents of Howard County.

“It is my belief that our eternal duty and responsibility to the world is to treat one another with respect and encouragement,” said H. Taylor Walls, Chair of the Human Rights Commission. “Senator Robey and The Council of Elders of the Black Community of Howard County, MD have demonstrated the spirit of commitment and passion for all people, especially in Howard County. They are not just recipients of the Human Rights Award, but beacons’ reminding us all that there are no time outs in doing what is right and just.”

Past recipients of the Human Rights Commission’s Award include: Elisa Montalvo and the Howard County NAACP Youth Council (2012); Carol A. Beatty and the Community Action Council of Howard County, MD, Inc. (2011); Rufus F. Clanzy (2010); Dr. Edward Cochran (2009); Dr. Sydney Cousin and Leola Dorsey (2008); and Colette Roberts and Rev. Dr. Robert Turner (2007).

For more information about the award and/or the ceremony, please contact the Office of Human Rights at 410-313-6430.